Dreaming of Reading

It has long been a fantasy of mine to go away for a weekend and do nothing but read. No commitments, no interruptions, just me and a book. So when an open weekend, frequent flyer miles, and an understanding husband presented itself, I jumped at the chance – an entire weekend alone in warm weather with nothing but my bathing suit and books (and my laptop. Although I crave solace, I can’t imagine being completely out of touch!).

My carryon will be light to provide plenty of room for my books. I plan on giving my library card a good workout. As I wander the stacks I wonder, should I go for easy, beachy reads or challenge myself with heavier books I have been meaning to read? Should I revisit old friends or browse the Most Wanted section of the library? With so many options, I may need another entire weekend alone to come up with my list!

It is fun to dream. So I ask you, blog readers, presented with a weekend on a deserted island (or something less exotic like a mid-level hotel on St. Petersburg beach) what books would be in your carryon or what blogs or websites would be bookmarked on your laptop?

3 thoughts on “Dreaming of Reading

  1. mennogirl says:

    If you haven’t read The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (and its sequel) by Stieg Larrson yet, I highly recommend it. However it is quite the thriller, so be prepared to be completely sucked in :)

  2. Clif Brown says:

    Don’t go! Or, if you do, don’t take a single thing to read and use the time to explore the beach (or wherever) and get to know the place. Otherwise why not stay home?

    The wonderful thing about reading is that it can be done anywhere and for the price of the trip you could have any book you want for the rest of your life. The confines of an airplane seat are as good a place as any because there is nothing else you can do.

    Now if I HAD to go, I’d just take whatever my latest book might be. That’s another thing about reading – the excitement never abates because each new read is filled with promise.

    Maybe it’s a comment on the times that read-to-escape has been replaced by escape-to-read.

    Enjoy yourself, whatever you do.

  3. GG Allin says:

    It sounds that husband of yours is very understanding. He sounds like a saint. But, I’ll bet he won’t let you take the laptop. You should just get an iPhone.

Leave a Reply

