2013 Lincoln Prize Winner

freedom-national-coverThis year’s Lincoln Prize, given annually by Gettysburg College and the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History for the finest scholarly work on the Civil War, has been awarded to James Oakes for his book Freedom National: The Destruction of Slavery in the United States, 1861-1865. He also won the Lincoln Prize in 2008 for The Radical and the Republican: Frederick Douglass, Abraham Lincoln, and the Triumph of Antislavery Politics. Professor of history at the Graduate Center of New York’s City University, Mr. Oakes will receive $50,000 and a bronze replica of Augustus Saint-Gaudens’s bust “Lincoln the Man” at the April 10 ceremony in New York. Past winners of the award include Doris Kearns Goodwin, James M. McPherson, Eric Foner, and Ken Burns. You can read the entire New York Times article, which also includes an excerpt from the book, here.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s