2013 Carl Sandburg Literary Awards

housespiritsIsabel Allende and Michael Lewis have won this year’s prestigious Carl Sandburg Literary Awards, presented by the Chicago Public Library Foundation and the Chicago Public Library. The annual award “honors an author whose significant body of work has enhanced the public’s awareness of the written word.” Evanston-based author Christine Sneed will be also be honored with the 21st Century Award which “honors a significant recent achievement in writing by a Chicago-area writer.” She will be at the Evanston Public Library this Saturday, April 13 reading from her first novel Little Known Facts. You can check here for more information on Saturday’s event. The awards will be held Oct. 23 on the campus of the  University of Illinois at Chicago. You can also check the EPL catalog for books by Allende and Lewis.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s