National Poetry Month: April 17th

The Dishonest Mailmen by Robert Creeley

They are taking all my letters, and they
put them into a fire.

                                   I see the flames, etc.
But do not care, etc.

They burn everything I have, or what little
I have. I don’t care, etc.

The poem supreme, addressed to
emptiness–this is the courage

necessary. This is something
quite different.

burning-letter1

This poem was selected by Russell J. (Adult Services Librarian)

Poetry Copyright Notice

Leave a Reply

