Virginia Quiñonez’s Best Reads of 2016

04b0b79My name is Virginia Quiñonez, and my partner and I just moved to Evanston this fall.  Besides reading, I love hiking, music, and film festivals.  I work at the Chicago School of Professional Psychology.

1)  The Time in Between by Maria Dueñas (2012)

This is one of my favorite books in recent years.  A classic romance and mystery novel with a different kind of heroine.

2)  The Year We Left Home by Jean Thompson (2011)

This was a beautiful story about an Iowa family undergoing great transitions not unlike our country.

far-empty3)  The Far Empty by J. Todd Scott (2016)

A rough, gritty crime novel set in my part of the country.  A great book and my favorite mystery of the year.

4)  The Lowland by Jhumpa Lahiri (2013)

I love Ms. Lahiri’s novels.  They mix history with personal sagas, family conflicts, and more in beautiful prose.

5)  When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanathi (2016)

I can’t begin to express what this book is about.  It’s a memoir, a poem, an inspirational book, a prayer about life.

Leave a Reply

